Legends of the West Indies

By anguillian June 12, 2017 11:58




The Legends of West Indies Cricket takes on Anguilla Cricket Team, the brain child of Hon. Cardigan Connor; “the event is all about the development of cricket on Anguilla and commemorated all those who contributed to cricket over the last 50 years, in this our 50th celebration”, Hon Cardigan Connor highlighted at the ‘We Are Cricket’ cocktail.
The three part event, commenced on Friday 26th May, with ‘We Are Cricket’ Cocktail , which served as a welcome reception for the Legends of West Indies cricket; Sir Curtly Ambrose, Sir Richie Richardson, Sir Anderson ‘Andy’ Roberts, Desmond Haynes, Pedro Colliins, Eldine Bapstite, Gordon Greenidge, Junior Murray, Rodney Kumar, Lionel Baker, Nehemiah Perry, Victor Eddy, Luther Kelly, Elquemedo Willet, Travis Dowlin and special invited guest Mr. Dave Carmon President of the West Indies Cricket Board and Mr. Enoch Lewis President of the Leeward Island Cricket Board.
The event continued on the morning of Saturday 27th May, with a two hours mentoring and coaching session hosted by Junior Murray and Travis Dowlin for the Anguilla under 19 Cricket team. The grand finale was that Saturday afternoon, which began with the Director of Anguilla Social Security Mr. Timothy Hodge, momentous unveiling of a billboard honouring Anguilla’s very own West Indies Cricket legend, Omari Banks. The 20/20 Cricket Match between the Legends of West Indies Cricket and the Anguilla Cricket team at the James Ronald Webster Park kicked off with Anguilla winning the toss-up. Alex Adams and Lendel Richardson served as the opening batsmen for Anguilla, with Pedro Collins and Lionel Baker as the opening blowers.
The event closed off with Anguilla standing tall and proud, taking home the win with 206 for 4, while Legends of the West Indies scored 146 for 4; a definite win for Anguilla 50th.

The Hon. Cardigan Connor would like to express much gratitude to Andia Ravariere for spearheading the planning committee, to Mr. Ronan McGrane CEO of Digicel, Mr. Rommel Hughes, Mr Peter Parles and Anne Parles of Straw Hat Restaurant, Mr. Ralph Hodge, Mr. Delano Mussington and Mr. Benjamin ‘Benji’ Hughes for being part of the planning committee, which made this event a reality.

Special thanks to the Anguilla Cricket Team, Omari Banks, Alex Adams, Mr. Calvin Hughes, Mr. Mitchel Morton, Mr. Victor Eddy, Mr. Frankie Claxton, Mr. John Millington, Mr. Luther Kelly, Mr. Livingstone Clifton and Mr Lanville ‘Bongo’ Bryan.

And to our sponsors, without you this event would not be possible, THANK YOU…
Anguilla Social Security, Digicel Anguilla, The Reef by CuisinArt, Straw Hat Restaurant, Calypso Chatters, Nagico Co Ltd Anguilla, FairPlay Group of Companies, Black Orchid Florists, Tropical Distributors Co Ltd, English Rose Restaurant, Irie Life, ANGLEC, the Government of Anguilla, Mingz, and Hall’s Unique Bakery.

By anguillian June 12, 2017 11:58


Latest Poll

Do you like the new layout of the Anguillian ?