By anguillian July 13, 2015 09:01



jt1 jt2 jt3

Mr. Miguel Leveret, Mr. Cardigan Connor and Mr. Derick Carty

Mr. Miguel Leveret, Mr. Cardigan Connor and Mr. Derick Carty

On Sunday, the Valley came alive with the annual John T. Memorial Cycling Race. The race which is in its 16th year is held in honour of the late John Thomas who contributed much of his time and finances to the development of cycling on Anguilla.

There were some changes in the route which included the race going through Island Harbour and a decrease in the number of times to Sandy Ground.

With a route of approximately 133km for Elite, 91k for Juniors and 52k for masters, Cadets and Females, cyclists took to the street just after 11:00 a.m with short intervals between each category. Antigua again proved to be a force to reckon and secured many of the top positions. The results for the different categories are as follows:

Elite Category
1st Place – Jyme Bridges, Antigua
2nd Place – Andre Simon
3rd Place – Russell Elcock, Barbados,
4th Place – Cammie Adams, St. Vincent
5th Place – Robert Marsh, Antigua
6th Place – Sherwin Osborne, Anguilla
7th Place – Jean Marie Poyo, St. Martin
8th Place – Patricio Blade Carty, St. Maarten
9th Place – Justin Hodge, Anguilla
10th Place – Zefal Bailey, St. Vincent

Female Category
1st Place – Susy Piscione
2nd Place – Lisbeth DeFalco
3rd Place – Sandra Gardner
4th Place – Murielle Lancien


Juniors Category (17-18 years)
1st Place – Romello Crawford, Guyana
2nd Place – Hasani Hennis, Anguilla
3rd Place – Joel Phillip, Antigua
4th Place – Wilfred Chittick, St. Maarten
5th Place – Melvin Madgeleine, Guadeloupe

Masters Category
1st Place – Winston Williams, St. Lucia
2nd Place – Ian Brooks, Anguilla
3rd Place – Junior Niles, Anguilla (last year’s winner)
4th Place – Timothy Richardson, Anguilla
5th Place – Charles Griffith, Anguilla

Cadets Category (15-16 years)
1st Place – Emmauel Gayral, Antigua
2nd Place – Xavi Brookes, Anguilla
3rd Place – Jamari Bryan, Anguilla (last year’s winner)
4th Place – Rashawnie Hendrickson, Anguilla
5th Place – Shaquan Hodge, Anguilla

Minimes Category (13-14 Years)
1st Place – Kianny Noel, ASM-SXM
2nd Place – Kenrick Cozier, ASM- SXM
3rd Place – Nicholas Carbon, Anguilla
4th Place – Jeremy Okiass, ASM-SXM

Benjamins Category (11-12 years)
1st Place – Cailan Fleming, Anguilla
2nd Place – Michel Lake, ASM-SXM
3rd Place – Kenny Carty, ASM-SXM
4th Place – Kai Ruan, Anguilla

Pupilles Category (9-10 Years)
1st Place- Jackeem Carty, ASM-SXM
2nd Place – Rolandio Lake, ASM-SXM
3rd Place – Justin Riley, Anguilla
4th Place – Grell Diclan, ASM-SXM

Poussins Category (Under 9)
1st Place – Demitri Niles, Anguilla
2nd Place – Kendj Gervais, ASM-SXM
3rd Place – Sharvin Narine, Anguilla
4th Place – Arvin Narine, Anguilla

– Press Release

(Published without editing by The Anguillian newspaper.)

By anguillian July 13, 2015 09:01


Latest Poll

Do you like the new layout of the Anguillian ?